Beethoven Symphony No. 6 “Pastoral”

Streaming October 3-6, 2020

Christopher Confessore, Music Director | Colleen Blagov, flute

Colleen Blagov, our soloist for this concert

This concert was originally scheduled for March 14 as part of our 2019-2020 Signature Six Series.
It will be performed without audience in late September and professionally filmed.
We are delighted to offer this concert as an online stream.
It will be available to watch online for a limited time, starting Saturday, October 3 at 7 pm.

RAVELPavane pour une infante défunte
MOZART – Flute Concerto in G Major, K. 313
BEETHOVEN – Symphony No. 6 in F Major “Pastoral”

Beethoven depicted his love of nature in his programmatic 6th symphony, originally titled “Pastoral Symphony, or Recollections of Country Life.” Though he worked on both his 5th and 6th symphonies at the same time, they could not be more different. Ravel’s work, which translates literally to Pavane for a Dead Princess, does not refer to death, but to music a young princess may have enjoyed dancing to in an earlier time. About the flute, Mozart wrote to his father: “…you know that I become quite powerless whenever I am obliged to write for an instrument that I cannot bear.” If Mozart disliked the flute, this didn’t stop him from writing stunning music for it, including the concerto on this program. It is an elegant, sensitive work requiring virtuosity from its soloist.

Read about Colleen Blagov.

To watch this concert, we request a donation of $10 or more.

1. Please select your donation amount below.
2. After making your donation selection, click “BUY NOW.”
3. Open your shopping bag (located on the upper/right side of your screen) to complete your donation.

After you place your order you will receive the link by email. If you do not receive the link by 5 pm on Saturday, please send an email to or call 321.242.2024.

See the Beethoven “Pastoral” Symphony program below. The 2019-2020 Program Book can be found on the homepage.

[3d-flip-book mode=”fullscreen” id=”13370″ ][/3d-flip-book]