Jan 22 2022


2:00 pm


AARON COPLANDLetter from Home

GEORGE S. CLINTONThe Rose of Sonora for Violin and Orchestra
Holly Mulcahy, violin

ANTONIN DVOŘÁK – Symphony No. 8

Copland’s Letter from Home is meant to evoke the emotions of a solder reading a letter from home, written on commission from bandleader Paul Whiteman during WWII. This is Copland’s uniquely American style at its finest. About his piece, George S. Clinton says: “The Rose of Sonora is first and foremost a violin concerto. One of the features of the solo violin part is the merging of traditional fiddle technique with classic violin technique, giving the main character, Rose, her voice.” In five movements, Clinton tells the fictional story of Rose, an outlaw in 1893 in the Territory of Arizona. With each movement, we follow Rose’s incredible journey as she deals with love, loss, vengeance and healing. The Rose of Sonora was commissioned by violinist Holly Mulcahy, our soloist. It was premiered in April 2019 with Ms. Mulcahy and the Chattanooga Symphony Orchestra.  Dvořák’s 8th Symphony is cheerful and idyllic, written in the countryside over a summer holiday, his “Pastoral” symphony. He set out to write a new symphony that was different from his 7th which was stormy and dramatic. While composing the 8th, he found great inspiration in the folk tunes of his home in Bohemia, saying: “Melodies simply pour out of me.”

Concert Sponsor: BSO South Guild