LETTERS FROM HOME | Holly Mulcahy, violin

JANUARY 22, 2022 | 2:00 PM & 7:30 PM | KING CENTER

Concert Sponsor: BSO South Guild

COLEMANSeven O’Clock Shout | CLINTONThe Rose of Sonora | DVOŘÁK – Symphony No. 8

Holly Mulcahy

This concert opens with Seven O’Clock Shout by Valerie Coleman. From Ms. Coleman: “Seven O’Clock Shout is an anthem inspired by the tireless frontline workers during the Covid-19 pandemic, and the heartwarming ritual of evening serenades that brings people together amidst isolation to celebrate life and the sacrifices of heroes.” This work received its premiere virtually in July 2020, performed by the Philadelphia Orchestra. About his piece, George S. Clinton says: “The Rose of Sonora is first and foremost a violin concerto. One of the features of the solo violin part is the merging of traditional fiddle technique with classic violin technique, giving the main character, Rose, her voice.” In five movements, Clinton tells the fictional story of Rose, an outlaw in 1893 in the Territory of Arizona. With each movement, we follow Rose’s incredible journey as she deals with love, loss, vengeance and healing. The Rose of Sonora was commissioned by violinist Holly Mulcahy, our soloist, and premiered in April 2019. Dvořák’s 8th Symphony is cheerful and idyllic, written in the countryside over a summer holiday, his “Pastoral” symphony. He set out to write a new symphony that was different from his 7th which was stormy and dramatic. While composing the 8th, he found great inspiration in the folk tunes of his home in Bohemia, saying: “Melodies simply pour out of me.”

Purchase 2:00 pm Tickets

Purchase 7:30 pm Tickets

Purchase a Create Your Own Subscription

Purchase a Subscription to the BSO’s Signature Six Series or Matinee Series

Programs and artists are subject to change.